Let Go!

 

images-2

So, I realized that I’m missing life! I am inside my own head all day – every day. I wake up thinking, plan while I’m eating, text while getting dressed, and search the net while doing everything else. Even during my workout today, I had to force myself to stay in the “zone” and push the crazy thoughts out of my head just so I could finish strong. Honestly, I could go on and on and give you all types of examples of my crazy antics, (most of which are really, really embarrassing) but you get the point. I need to seriously CHILL OUT and REST!

I am textbook type A: ambitious; rigidly organized; sensitive; truthful; impatient; always trying to help others; taking on more than I can handle; proactive; and obsessed with time management. People with Type A personalities are often high-achieving “workaholics” who multi-task with deadlines, and hate both delays and ambivalence. SMH – thanks Wiki!

Just when I think all hope is gone, I’m reminded of this verse:

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. “Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart; and you shall find rest for your souls. “For My yoke is easy, and My load is light.”

            Matthew 11:28-30

Give your burdens to Jesus!

We are not meant to carry the world on our shoulders. The word specifically instructs us to give our burdens to him. Stressed out – give it to Jesus! Got anxiety – hand it over to Jesus! Angry, upset, and  disappointed – release it all in the name of Jesus. Perhaps this is easier said than done. I mean when the boss is riding you, and you have deadlines to meet, and your children are swinging from the trees, and your money is beyond looking funny – your initial reaction is to feel stressed and anxious.

Just Do It!

God is waiting on you to make the right decision. The decision to CHILL OUT and REST in him. To REST on his word and reassurance that he has everything under control. To REST, ENJOY life and leave the heavy life lifting up to him! The fact is, you don’t need answers to be stress free, you don’t have to be in control of everything and everyone, and you don’t really need that million dollars you been praying about – even though it would be nice. LOL!

Decide today that instead of trying to figure it out, you let him work it out. Don’t get me wrong, God doesn’t want us to be “lazy.” Get your butt and exercise if you’re overweight, or look for a job if you’re running out of money. Think about this, you already possess everything that you will ever need to survive and succeed! In every situation, do what you can do and God will do what you can not!

Thoughts? Is it hard for you to let go?

3 thoughts on “Let Go!

  1. Ashli says:

    Girrrrrrllllll….It is difficult to let go. However, in the last six months I truly experienced a “walk by faith and not by sight” situation. I completely gave something to God and didn’t worry! I let him handle it and things worked out in my favor. I’ll admit that this is the first time that I actually truly let go! The victory in the end was so sweet and the journey through the challenge was trying, but not painful. And I truly believe that it’s because I leaned on His word and rested in His arms until He was done working on my behalf.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    I really needed to read this one today! You know me and know I’m ALWAYS in my head!! I do agree with you, we do need to just REST in Him.
    Thanks for this post! Keep up the awesome reads!

    Like

  3. Ashley says:

    I have a type A personality too and since I began my walk with Christ, resting in Him has been so difficult. I want to have my hands on everything and need to know everthing! Day by day…progress will happen.

    Like

Leave a comment