A Year Later…

 

Journey to find yourself

I’m back!

 

Well, I really didn’t go anywhere but I’ve been everywhere. Does that make sense? These past few months have been crazy busy. It feels like a lot of “life” happening all around me – some good and some bad.

 

During this time off, I took a moment to contemplate whether my heart was still here at Live for the Journey. You see, I started this blog a year ago in the midst of a challenging time in my life. You can read that post here.

 

I had no idea what I was doing and how I was going to do it. Writing wasn’t my favorite thing to do and I was very afraid of what people would think of me and my failure. Despite all of that, there was this small voice inside that pushed me to step out on faith and share my story. People don’t need to hear about another “over-night” success story or a “before and after” story. People need to know that there are people that are going thru challenges TODAY just like they are and are making the choice everyday to get back up and keep fighting.

 

I started this blog because I wanted to encourage people to look beyond their “right now” and try to see the journey that lies before them as the training ground that will shape them into the person that they were truly meant to be. Often times we sell ourselves short by settling for jobs, friends, and relationships that are just “good enough.” I believe that in our hearts we always know that we deserve MORE but convince ourselves that we don’t deserve more or that we’re not worthy of having MORE.

 

It’s way too easy to say how great life is when life is great. Its another thing to say and see how great life is when it throws you a bunch of lemons. What I know for sure is that the only constant in life is CHANGE. Change can be so scary and exciting at the same time. Some of us resist change so much that we miss out on the best experiences of life because were too busy holding on to what was. Let Go!

 

There was a moment last year when I finally got to a place where I really let go. I let go of the fear I was holding on to. I let go of the disappointment. I let go of the change I didn’t want to happen. I just let go! Funny thing is, the moment I let go was the moment (season) when that particular breakthrough finally happened.

 

Why am I saying all of this? To be honest, I don’t even know. In fact I was prepared to write a recap post of my experience with the Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Challenge. But when I sat down to write, this is what came out and I realize my journey with this blog is just beginning. This will continue to be a space of Honesty, Transparency and Encouragement.

 

I am who I am today because of the scars, failures and disappointments. I am not ashamed to stand up and be who I was called to be. Perhaps one day I will know exactly what that is but until then I will continue to LIVE FOR THE JOURNEY…NOT THE DESTINATION.

It’s amazing what a year can do….NEVER GIVE UP!

 

*excuse the grammatical errors – this was a post straight from the heart*

Leave a Reply

